Snow Day!

I steal this little ditty from my brother’s blog.  My 8 yr old niece learned this at school:

Recipe for a snowstorm

Flush three scoops of ice cream down the toilet (preferably vanilla)

Hide a spoon under your pillow

Place a penny on your windowsill

Wear your pajamas inside out

Throw an ice cube out your window

It looks as if Geneva has finally been hit by this winter’s snowstorm that managed to bury the east coast a few weeks ago.  Actually, it isn’t nearly as bad; schools haven’t been closed but yeah, there are a few inches on the ground.

One of the best parts of snow days when I was a kid was getting out of bed and rushing to the window to see how much snow hit the ground and hoping—praying—school would be canceled.  The exhilaration!  The excitement!  Wide awake from a full night of sleep, homework done since you thought you were going to actually need it for class but, dammit:  home all day!  Nothing better than being a kid on a snow day.

Imagine, then, how sad I was when I read the following:

Due to anticipated inclement weather conditions, all New York City public schools will be closed tomorrow, February 10, 2010.

This was announced on February 9, one full day before school.  Oh Mayor Bloomberg!  How dare you cheat NYC kids of that anticipation!

My niece lives in Jersey.  If she were a NYC school kid, I would have trekked through the tundra into the city and slapped Bloomberg silly.  Or at least, thrown him into a snowdrift.  I get that planning ahead helps parents deal with things like childcare, but c’mon!  The thought of him taking away that excitement from any kid makes me sad.

I posted about the impending snowstorm on my Facebook status last night.  Already, my own students—at the college level—were antsy in anticipation with the thought of class being canceled.  Imagine what a hero I feel like today to let them know, that yes indeed, class is canceled.  I didn’t know this last night, only finding out hours before class was to begin.  I expect, knowing my students, word will spread quickly.  Had I known last night, I am not sure I would have told them.  Because we all need to feel like a kid again, as often as possible.

Below, is a fantastic clip of Emma singing an original song she wrote.  Because as you all know how much I think GIRLS ROCK.

7 thoughts on “Snow Day!

  1. Rebecca Felt says:

    I completely agree, half of being a kid [ahem college student] is that sinking disappointed feeling when you wait and wait and wait for the radio to announce a cancellation… and it skips past your school [or when your professor emails you as a reminder that class is still on…]

    The anticipation makes the snow day that much sweeter. Without the possibility of disappointment, the entire ordeal is not as fun. Grudgingly I admit, I must appreciate the disappointment only because it builds suspense for another day.

    My local newspaper at home now sends “text” alerts for snow days and delays. Talk about a multimedia society, it kills shouts of “MOM! What’s the radio station!” and fumbling to turn the TV on in a sleep induced stupor…

    This new development disappoints me- especially this morning when I got a text saying that my sister had a delay…

  2. Ashley Yang says:

    Haha Amaury was actually pissed. I got to the lab and signed on to check my email, saw yours and whooped–he was mad that he hauled himself all the way to class. (I was already in the building so no big deal). Did Geneva cancel after-school activities just like I predicted?

    • Michele says:

      Nikki called to cancel. On her call, I agreed but then they canceled after-school events an hour later (good thing Nikki called….I didn’t hear about the official cancel until 2:30). poor Amaury.

  3. Dot says:

    Emma rocks! I have to post that on FB.

  4. Shane Simon says:

    Wearing your pajamas inside out is ESSENTIAL if you want to have any chance for a snow day. Where I grew up, our district Superintendent, Dr. Laws, was notorious for not canceling school no matter if white-out conditions were predicted. Like Mayor Bloomberg, when he did cancel school he did so well in advance – probably in an attempt to suck the souls out of his students. In my pre-college career, I only ever had about six snow days. My sister, a sophomore in high school, has already had 8 snow days in the past MONTH. I’m not bitter, I’d just like an explanation from Jack Frost or Old Man Winter as to how that’s fair.

    Snow days are one of the things that make childhood so magical, as Michele did such a great job of illustrating in her post. When snow was predicted in high-school and my alarm went off in the morning, I would roll out of bed, drag myself to the window, and lift the shade an inch or so hoping to be greeted by the sight of an arctic tundra. If the amount was near negligible, I would grope around in the early morning darkness for my laptop for confirmation that god had taken pity on all those under 18 in my area. Now, I know that snow has fallen when I am awakened by the sounds of the snowploughs scraping past on the street outside my window. I keep hoping that my imbalance of high school snow days will equalized during my time in college. Needless to say, I’ll be wearing my pj’s inside out tonight in hopes of freeing up my schedule tomorrow.

  5. Sara Hollingshead says:

    Ah. The joy of a snowday. But I’ve realized that I am not a fan of winter. I’m ready for the warm weather. But I do remember the joy of waking up and seeing snow and running downstairs to check the news to see if I had school. When I was in high school though, news stations around me introduced a new system where you could provide your cell phone number and school online and receive a text when school was cancelled. But for some reason, I never really trusted it, actually, I never really trusted my mom either when she told me I didn’t have school- I had to see it for myself on the TV screen- so I would always sit in front of the TV until my school appeared and then I would go back to bed.
    One thing I never got though, was how one town could have a snow day but the town over would still have school. Sure ocean effect and such, but still, it’s a matter of a few miles, there can’t be too much difference. When I was growing up, everybody in my family went to different schools- I had two sisters and my mom worked as a school nurse- and it was a rare event when the four of us had a day off together. Even though three of us attended schools that were less than ten miles apart from each other, my mom’s public school would never cancel school, while my private school always canceled school because people were commuting from far away. In addition, I think it’s funny how it took so much for my mom’s public school to cancel school because they didn’t want to have to make up the days in June (that lovely 180 day rule).
    And I’m going to disagree with you Michele—I preferred to find out about a snow day the night before- then I could go to bed without having to worry about waking up- or worse- go to bed hopeful and wake up and see no snow on the ground and have to go to school. If I found out the night before, I could avoid homework for another night, watch movies, not set my alarm and fully enjoy the snow day. I remember even my mom loved getting a phone call at night telling her she didn’t have work the next day- it’s something about the assurance of knowing you don’t have school the next day always made me sleep better on those nights.

  6. csnizzy says:

    I totally used to do all of those things your nephew does, along with turning off my parent’s alarm clocks. whoops. It was the best feeling to turn over and look at the clock and see it was way past time to get up for school, and then look over to the window and see a white blanket of snow covering everything in sight. Then I would run downstairs to breakfast all ready. I would pretty much skip over breakfast because I was so excited to go play outside. It was always a mess trying to find snow gear that still fits for myself, my younger brother, and younger sister. Once we were outside playing, there was very little that would stop us from playing until the night came, except for the cold. Once the cold was unbearable, aka snow down my pants, we would come in and stomp our snow tracks all over the kitchen waiting for hot chocolate.
    I hope it snows so hard here that we will have an official snow day, I would love to relive those days!

Comments are closed.

