Big Hits Snowbound Mix (1)

So I am entering into a cold and snowy Friday night. And while I actually considered going out tonight, the heaping mound of snow that blocks the passage way from my front door to my car has made me turn back inside and crawl into my office, keeping pleasantly warm and cozy with iTunes. This is what I randomly tossed into a Big Hits Snowbound Mix. How fantastic is this?

Queen: Under Pressure

Liz Phair: Polyester Bride

NWA: Straight Outta Compton

Clap Your Hands Say Yeah: Gimmie Some Salt

Newton Faulkner: Teardrops

The Grateful Dead: Bertha

Miley Cyrus: 7 Things

Timbaland (feat One republic): Apologize

Rufus Wainwright: Vibrate

Rick Springfield: Jessie’s Girl

Pink: So What

Beck: Loser

Matt and Kim: Lessons Learned

so what’s in your Snowbound Mix?

10 thoughts on “Big Hits Snowbound Mix (1)

  1. Ashley Yang says:

    miley? furrealz?

  2. JoJo Vinick says:

    Your snowbound mix is much funkier than mine – but it served it’s purpose. Today my board held an Art Day to create PR strategies and make sheet signs and when we first arrived no one spoke – they were all hung over/tired/half-asleep. I turned to my handy laptop and created an awesome playlist filled with some oldies, some newbies and some… interesting choices. Below are the highlights.

    Bug a Boo – Destiny’s Child
    Billy Liar – The Decemberists
    Halo/Walking on Sunshine – Glee
    Let the Drummer Kick – Citizen Cope
    So Yesterday – Hilary Duff
    Day Tripper – Beatles
    Home – Marc Broussard
    Hang Me Up to Dry – Cold War Kids
    White Houses – Jackson Jills Version
    MMMBop – Hanson
    Mexico – James Taylor

    • Michele says:

      I am a new Glee fan so I am just getting turned on by their mash-ups. The Halo/Walking on Sunshine kicks ass!

      btw, Hanson has a new CD out. Thought I might let you know.

  3. Rebecca Felt says:

    props for 7 Things, it’s guilty pleasure music.
    I was in the library for most of the snow day and I played this playlist on repeat almost all day while I was working:

    1.) The Story – Brandi Carlile
    2.) Fight for This Love – Cheryl Cole
    3.) Both Sides Now- Joni Mitchell
    4.) The Promise- Tracy Chapman
    5.) Please Don’t Leave Me- P!nk
    6.) The Curse of Curves- Cute is What We Aim For
    7.) He Could Be the One- Hannah Montana [more embarrassing than plain Miley…]
    8.) 1234- Feist
    9.) Wonderwall- Oasis
    10.) Youth Gone Wild- Skid Row
    11.) Summersong- The Decemberists

    I think the best mixes are super random

    • Michele says:

      I love Miley. I don’t care what anyone says *cough* Ashley *cough* I still like her.

      and Joni Mitchell can be on ANY mix and it is a hit.

  4. sth2391 says:

    This mix is awesome. Let me just say, I absolutely love Lessons Learned by Matt and Kim. They are honestly so good, I could listen to them all day. I’m waiting till they come play back home because I’ll jump on those tickets first chance I get. Recently, I’ve been downloading music like it’s my job. I can’t stop listening to Arcade Fire. You must download some of their music. They’re amazing and so relaxing. I pretty much have all of their music, but here I’ll list some of my favorites- Rebellion, Wake Up, Haiti, Neighborhood #4 (7 Kettles), and so much more. Their lyrics are so powerful and the music always gets to me.
    But this playlist has been favorite recently:

    Walking On Broken Glass- Annie Lennox
    Neighborhood #4 (7 Kettles)- Arcade Fire
    The General Specific- Band of Horses
    One Week- Barenaked Ladies
    Eleanor Rigby- The Beatles
    Zac and Sara- Ben Folds
    Lay Lady Lay- Bob Dylan
    Good Time- Brazilian Girls
    Strawberry Swing- Coldplay
    Linger- The Cranberries
    Satellite- Dave Matthews Band

    I usually will switch up my mixes, but recently this mix has been my favorite.

  5. Grace B says:

    I love these videos. Loser (for obvious reasons) is one of my favorite songs of all time. Your stellar tastes have inspired me to make my own playlist. This playlist can thankfully no longer be called snowbound, and instead I’ll entitle it summerbound. My musical tastes are predominantly contemporary but extremely eclectic. These are just a few of the current songs on repeat on my ipod.

    I need a dollar – Aloe Bacc
    I was going to do my Kinetic Typography project to lyrics from this song. It’s my current life slogan. And I love how soulful his voice is.

    daylight vodka and milk remix – Matt and Kim
    I remember discovering Matt and Kim’s album Grand while I was DJing at WEOS/WHWS radio and thinking how phenomenal this song was. Daylight has since gotten huge exposure and has consequently been extremely overplayed. This remix gives it new life!

    it’s been done – Angela McClusky
    This chick has an awesome, gravely voice. It makes for a pretty sexy song.

    lebanese blonde – Thievery Corporation
    So groovy.

    humdrum town – Theophilus London
    Theophilus is my new favorite artist, and twitter buddy. And he’s from my hometown of Brooklyn, NY. Nothing humdrum about brooklyntown.

    le belle e le bad boy – MC Solaar
    I fell in love with this song when it aired on the finale of Sex and the City and as of late have rediscovered it. Its one of the few foreign rap songs I’ve heard that in my opinion doesn’t sound absolutely ridiculous.

    dance the way I feel- Ou Est Le Swimming Pool
    I love the name of this band. And I love the name if the song even more.
    “Stop! Well I just dance the way I feel.”

    smash into you – Beyonce
    I am enamored with Beyonce, and I think this is her most beautiful song. Try blasting it in the car. Amazing!

  6. Alex Cragg says:

    It’s September 7 so I’m obviously not snowed in but if I was:

    The Absence of God- Rilo Kiley

    Sodom South Georgia- Iron and Wine

    Please, Please, Please Let Me Get What I Want- She&Him (though the Smiths original is equally as good, I just think I’d love to hear Zooey Deschanel soothing voice on a cold, snowy day)

    Sea Legs- Frank Turner (I saw him live when opened for Dropkick Murphys last summer in Canandaguia)

    Balloons- Julia Nunes (She’s awesome. I watch her vids on YouTube all the time. She plays the ukulele and she’s from Fairport!)

    Psychotic Girl- The Black Keys

    Piazza, New York Catcher- Belle and Sebastian

    Just Like Heaven- The Cure

    Summer Skin- Death Cab for Cutie

    Dying Is Fine- Ra Ra Riot

    I always associate music with seasons so this playlist was pretty much premeditated. (There is rarely a moment when I’m not organizing my iTunes into convenient playlists for my listening pleasure.) I don’t know exactly what makes something a “summer song” or a “winter song”, but if I had to take a guess I’d say it’s because of the memories that I have associated with those songs.
    I do think your playlist is fantastic Michele. Miley or no Miley, I would love to be snowed in with it!

  7. GT says:

    I’m obviously not snowed in either since it’s now only September 13 but if I were these are the jams I’d turn on and cuddle up with a blanket and a good ol’ cup of hot chocolate (regardless of the fact that every time I have hot chocolate I get major stomache aches).

    Satellite – Dave Matthews Band

    Let the drummer kick that – Citizen Cope

    Crazy Love – Van Morrison

    Any Whitney Houston!

    All I want for Christmas is You – Mariah Carey …. Yes, I love Christmas music and as soon as snow hits the ground I think it’s perfectly acceptable to listen to.

    Desert Rain – Edward Maya

    Let the beat build – Lil wayne

    I’m Me – Lil wayne

    Something you forgot – Lil Wayne…..actually any Lil Wayne

    Bed – J. Holiday

    No Woman No Bedrock – DJ McFly

    I’m Jamaican and I love to listen my Caribbean music so, I would definitely add these songs to the playlist….

    I feel good and love me have fi get both by Beres Hammond

    Turn your lights down low – Bob Marley

    My Life – I Octane

    Make me weak – Alaine

    I’d even put in some Indian music (I copied a few cd’s from my grandma, aunts and uncles) but I don’t know the titles of the songs. Anyways, this would be my perfect snowed in playlist. Pretty diverse….but thats me.

  8. AbbyMW says:

    Well I am not snow bound, but one of my objectives in life is to make an “Ultimate Playlist”. I am one of those people that create and recreate playlists on a monthly basis. At the end of summer I decided, after listening to hours of Pandora, that it was time to make an ultimate playlist. You know those songs you can listen to for hours on end, and you never get sick of them! There are too many songs to list but I will supply you with artists that I deemed worthy of my “Ultimate Playlist”. They are as follows:
    -Passion Pit
    -Eli Young Band
    -Dave Mathews Band
    -Foster the People
    -Mumford and Sons
    -Blessid Union of Souls
    -Matisyahu
    -UB40
    -Kid Rock
    -Maroon 5
    -Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeros
    -Sara Bareilles
    -Kenny Chesney
    and the list goes on and on. Its not really a list based on bands, more like hit songs. It’s like the “NOW!” series in a playlist. I really enjoy the “NOW!” music, especially the original 1-10 albums. I have found Pandora, and the “NOW!” series to be very helpful when trying to remember songs from the 90’s. My parents have the 70’s-80’s covered, especially my dad sometimes I worry about my moms music choices! My current song of choice is Hey Leonardo (She Likes Me for Me) by Blessid Union of Souls. Last week it was Sleepyhead by Passion Pit. I am such a music person; it is hard to choose just a couple songs.

Comments are closed.

