Guest Blogger: Grace

Today I read a very disturbing article in the Huffington Post.

Are Cell Phones and Wi-Fi Hazardous to Your Health?

The article is a warning for those who use cell phones and laptops like us students. It introduced me to a new term, EMF (electromagnetic fields), described as possibly “the most devastating threat to health yet”. EMFs radiate from almost every household item in this generation, like microwaves, along with cell phone towers and Wi-Fi routers (which are located all over HWS). The most potent EMFs come from cell phones though.

The article explains the horrible effects that EMFs have on our bodies, like causing brain cells to leak, and speeding up cell division. It states,

Hundreds of studies link EMF exposure to Alzheimer’s disease, ALS (Lou Gehrig’s disease), brain fog, cardiovascular disease, miscarriage, infertility, insomnia, learning impairment, as well as anxiety and depression.

Miscarriage?? Why didn’t my doctor warn me about this? This is very serious stuff.

I am an avid iPhone user, and if you are always on your phone too, the next fact will terrify you. According to the book Zapped: Why Your Cell Phone Should Not Be Your Alarm Clock and 1,268 Ways to Outsmart the Hazards of Electronic Pollution by Anne Louse Gittleman,

the Swedish National Institute for Working Life found that people using cell phones for 2,000 hours—a total most of us could easily rack up over the years—had a 240 percent increased risk for malignant brain tumors on the side of the head where they usually held their phone.

WHAT!? If this is true, then my entire generation (who have been using cell phones since 6th grade) will most likely have brain tumors, because “kids absorb 50 percent more electro-pollution than adults”. Someone please provide a post that disproves this fact so I am able to sleep tonight!

The article does end with some tips to avoid EMFs, though:

  • Text, don’t talk, whenever possible.
  • Use speaker mode to keep your phone as far away from your head as possible.
  • Go offline — turn off your cell phone when you’re not using it and shut off your wireless router at night. (You’ll be amazed how much more soundly you’ll sleep.)
  • Get your phone out of the your pocket; men who carry their mobile there have lower sperm counts than those who don’t carry a cell phone.
  • Avoid tight spaces (buses, elevators, trains, and subways) where your phone has to work harder to get a signal out through metal.
  • Buy low, choosing a phone with a low SAR (specific absorption rate) number.
  • Replace your cordless phones with corded landline phones.
  • Don’t cradle your laptop–putting it on your lap exposes your reproductive organs to EMFs.
  • Most important of all, restrict cell and cordless phone use during pregnancy.

Well… Seeing as I have already have talked on my cell phone for more than 2,000 hours in my lifetime and have ALWAYS cradled my MacBook in my lap, I am worried that I am going to end up childless and with a brain tumor. Hopefully someone invents a cell phone case that restricts or limits the emission of EMFs…ASAP!

4 thoughts on “Guest Blogger: Grace

  1. Ryan Waffle says:

    Definitely a scary subject to read, especially for someone who just got done with a phone conversation and who is typing this response with my laptop on my lap. Whoops!

    But when you really think about it, we could be pounded with this information on a constant basis and nothing would change. Things keep getting more convenient and available, which of course will all be featured on devices that emit EMFs. We are reliant on technology at this point, and until a new technology is introduced to us that eliminates EMFs, we will continue to use them.

    People won’t change habits because there might be some risk involved. They almost never do. We’ve been hammered with information on the dangers of smoking, yet people still smoke. New advertisements appear about talking on cell phones or texting and driving and the risk factors, but people still do it.

    Why you may ask? People like things that they are used to, they love things that are convenient, and if something doesn’t present an immediate and disastrous risk, they won’t quit doing it.

  2. Becky says:

    Grace! This is so scary. I have heard stuff like this for years though and have yet to hear of anyone who actually died in a cell phone related incident(not texting and driving, however). I think it is still too soon to tell whether or not cell phones negatively effect the body and organs.

    Huffington Post is an internet newspaper and I don’t feel that its credibility is that great. I wonder how many other articles have been written about the hazards of technology or examined the ways in which technology can effect the body. Imagine that this is true, I wonder what gadget will come out next if cell phones and laptops prove to be hazardous!

  3. Ben Ayres says:

    This is kind of terrifying if you think about it. Everyone is connected today through technology, people take classes online, use their phones for everything that is possible and use electronic planners. These stats are incredible though, I did not know that this was even possible. I will definetly take some of the advice from this and make a change in how i use my technology from now on. But how do we know that this is true, yes the article suggests that there have been many many studies but i feel like there has been many studies in the past that have been proven wrong. However, if this is true i wonder what it will do to our society, if this is true and we will not now for many years now because we are the first generation using these devices and are essentially the guiney pigs. However, i wonder what changes cell phone companies may have to make…very interesting and scary though!

  4. eurogate says:

    This freaks me out. I also feel that no one really knows if it is as bad as this article describes. As another poster said I don’t trust the credibility of the Huffington post, I have seen fiction as fact on that site before . At this point I really do wonder ‘ Could I live without my cell phone?’ I don’t know. Would I be happier without one? Yes. But according to today’s 21’st century lifestyle I would have many issues. My phone has saved my ass countless times from changing classes, changing practices, being lost… The list of benefits of a phones continues. Even if it did cause cancer I would just get a blue tooth. Cell phones have become to vital to the world we live in… we need them

Comments are closed.

