Finally. An idea I can get behind.

With images such as this:

and this:

I struggle with concepts of decadence.  I am sure Paris Hilton earns every dollar she makes but does she really need a $400,000 diamond-encrusted dashboard for her pink Bentley?  Does anyone?  Yes, those that make money have every right to spend it any way they wish.  But with events such as the Haiti earthquake and Japan tsunami, it is difficult to see frivolous spending such as this.

This is a subjective statement, of course.  I am sure Paris Hilton donates plenty of money to various charitable causes.  But I can think of better ways to spend the money that celebrities do spend.

Like, this is kind of cool:

I personally would not spend $40K on someone else’s hair (or even my own), but if you are going to spend that much cash, at least it is going somewhere worthwhile.

Now this is the ultimate in coolness:

Forty American billionaires have pledged at least half of their wealth to charitable causes – a combined value of at least $125 billion.

Guess whose idea was this?  Yeah, this dude.

I have always liked Bill Gates, even though I am a long-standing Machead.  He made geek cool long before geek actually became cool.  And trust me, Geek. Is. Cool.

But I digress.  (I needed to prove how cool geek really is.)

The point here is that you can make a choice where you want to direct your philanthropy.  Which is why I love this gig:

According to the company website,

Resource Generation organizes young people with financial wealth to leverage resources and privilege for social change.

Not a bad way to spend your money, eh?

I like that the word generation is included in the company name.  I think it might be a way of letting you all know, you are all responsible for this:

It’s your generation.  What do you have to say about it?

34 thoughts on “Finally. An idea I can get behind.

  1. Eliss Manon says:

    Now this is something I definitely feel strongly about! When I saw this blog I knew I had to write something on it. I mean it is soooo true celebrities have so much money and spend it on useless things. Even though it is true that it is their money and the worked hard for it and they can do whatever they want with it but to spend it on pointless things, such as putting REAL diamonds on a Bentley dashboard and PINK at that! Like common really?
    There are so many bad events happening around the world such as earthquakes and tsunami, as well as people in third world countries dying from poverty and many more things, why spend your money on something pointless, when you can save a life or many lives. I’m not saying that there are celebrities that are selfish with their money, because a lot of celebs donate to a cause in which they believe in, which is very good. But when you have majority of them spending it on pointless things just to make them look “cooler” or to look like they have money, it makes you stop and wonder how much money they just spend on the item.
    Compare that to how much money they donate to whatever cause. In my opinion I feel as if celebs can do whatever they want with their money as long as they are helping their community or the world; because in reality they do have the money to travel to these countries and distribute foods and clothing, where as people of middle or lower class do their best to send whatever they can to help out their families back in their country even if it’s just a dollar; because they still have to make ends meet at their own home.
    But then you look at shows like MY SWEET 16 and you realize how selfish teenagers could be, well rich teenagers on the show. It makes me wonder why the hell the parents spoil them to this extent. I mean the reason they are like this is all their parents fault! They would not be able to last a day in a third world country even if they were getting paid for it. This is just sad how these kids are getting everything they want but are still ungrateful and selfish; a child in a poverty country will kill to be in their shoes for one day and for their 16 birthday would most probably want to donate money to their country instead of getting a Lexus and complaining that they didn’t get to show it off for their birthday party. I mean common these kids are truly pathetic.

  2. Tyler Garvey says:

    This is awesome. I feel like historically, one of the biggest problems this country has had is a completely out of whack distribution of wealth. The middle class has been consistently shrinking, so its nice to know that people with more money than they can possibly use are donating a majority of it to good causes. I also really liked the resource generation idea, it is important that young people start to take an initiative to make a difference because we are the ones that will inherit this society.

  3. Jena Ko says:

    It is indeed true that it sucks how money is used these days. With so much upcoming technology and media, we have perceived a whole different kind of lifestyle. We are comfortable, and yet we complain about the many things materially we don’t have. Many in the fast growing cultures do not understand the true meaning to life. Many people in other countries have to worry about survival meanwhile we in the rich countries worry about having more money to spend. It sucks that, as the videos show, many children are being spoiled and not understanding the idea of hard work to get that rich. And I completely agree that when someone is wealthy, they should share the wealth among those who really do need it. But one may ask, why is it bad that many of the wealthy spend their money on material things? If we have everything we need which includes necessities, aren’t we allowed to spend money on whatever we choose to spend it on? If it makes us feel good, can’t we buy flashy cars, clothes, and houses? This idea sort of reflects back to the survival of the fittest. Many of us with money have worked hard through struggles to get to the financial status we are in, for we deserve to be a little lavished.

  4. Yuliana Baez says:

    Alright here we go. This is something I feel strongly about and have had this feeling for a long time. I work at the colleges UPS/ FedEx office down in the Scandling Basement. As we are all aware here at the Hobart and William Smith Colleges there are people from all economical backgrounds. Rich or poor each day there are many packages that are shipped in. Being there for 2 years now I’ve seen everything being ordered. Also being there for so long I have memorized some students name because I see them come down two or three times a week. Instead of investing their money into something that is useful they buy stuff that they don’t even need. I mean I am not complaining about shopping because I’m sure that if we all had the money we would be doing the same thing. I really like the RG initiative because you are giving back to people who are as fortunate as they are. I just think that people should take more initiative and stop thinking about only themselves. I saw that episode of my Super Sweet 16 and it really pissed me off because some people do not even get the option of having one.

  5. Peter Cruice says:

    I agree that celebrities have so much money that they buy pretty much whatever they want. I personally think the diamonds Paris Hilton had embedded in her Bentley is a complete waste of money. However a lot of people who aren’t celebrities purchase things that other people find a waste of money. The main question is what is considered a waste of money? If I buy something for my car that is expensive and I am happy I purchased it and it brings back rewards in another manner is that considered a waste of money? To me it is not, however to someone else who is trying to put food a table certainly is.

    What I find celebrities waste their money on the most is alcohol. How often do you see rappers pouring bottles of crystal and Dom perignon on the floor in a music video? Thats the most expensive champagne being wasted. I can’t believe that they do this, but its their money and they can choose how they want to waste it.

  6. Anonymous says:

    I think this is a very good topic because consumerism is getting ridiculous in America. I understand that people earn their own money and should be able to use it as they want, but I also think they could live quite comfortably without all the extra luxuries. Even if people feel like they don’t have the money to spare for certain charities I am still surprised about how many people don’t know about certain things going on in our world today. I went to the Invisible Children movie that they showed on Monday and I was surprised by how many people did not know what Invisible Children was. Even if people did not know details about it I thought they would at least recognize the name.
    I feel like being aware of these issues and raising awareness is half the battle. I feel like our country sometimes gets too caught up with themselves to even notice what else is happening in our world. I am definitely guilty of this at times. It’s so easy to get caught up with my own personal problems but when I look at the big picture and compare it to other people’s problems I realize it’s not as bad as I’m making it seem. I mean there are definitely people who are very involved and into charity but I feel like some of the luxuries in our country we could definitely do without! I agree with the sweet 16 comment, spending that much money isnt exactly necessary to have fun.

  7. Katie York says:

    I think this is a very good topic because consumerism is getting ridiculous in America. I understand that people earn their own money and should be able to use it as they want, but I also think they could live quite comfortably without all the extra luxuries. Even if people feel like they don’t have the money to spare for certain charities I am still surprised about how many people don’t know about certain things going on in our world today. I went to the Invisible Children movie that they showed on Monday and I was surprised by how many people did not know what Invisible Children was. Even if people did not know details about it I thought they would at least recognize the name.
    I feel like being aware of these issues and raising awareness is half the battle. I feel like our country sometimes gets too caught up with themselves to even notice what else is happening in our world. I am definitely guilty of this at times. It’s so easy to get caught up with my own personal problems but when I look at the big picture and compare it to other people’s problems I realize it’s not as bad as I’m making it seem. I mean there are definitely people who are very involved and into charity but I feel like some of the luxuries in our country we could definitely do without! I agree with the Sweet 16 Show comment, spending that much money isnt necessary to have fun.

  8. Ashley Yang says:

    When I see pictures and videos like the ones posted above, I can’t help but think about the plethora of useless TV shows (usually on MTV, VH1, and TLC) that glorify the excessive lifestyles of the wealthy. “My Super Sweet 16” has now spread even further into “Insane Kid Parties” where crazy (usually) mothers will drop 10K on a party for a 6 year old, and let’s not even talk about “Toddlers & Tiaras” and what THOSE idiots spend making their kids look like trussed up chickens. Now I’m fully guilty of watching some of those (namely T&T), mostly for the “judgement factor”, as my housemates and I like to sit around and yell obscenities at the TV and wonder what the hell these parents are smoking, but there are probably dozens more that don’t even cross my radar because they’re just TOO insane. The thing is, those shows wouldn’t exist without a demand. It begs an even larger question about our culture: Why do we want to watch these shows? Do they hold the same can’t-look-away-from-a-gory-car-wreck appeal for everyone else that they do for my housemates and I? Somehow, I doubt it. Do people want to emulate them? Or do they just want to live vicariously through them? It would be an interesting survey to do, even among HWS students.

  9. danielle moreau says:

    Okay. I understand that the greater majority of people in modern society, especially those who have plenty of cash to spend, are materialistic… but seriously? This is typical, an idea like spending an absurd amount of money on a lavish car WOULD turn into some young celebrity personality covering her PINK BENTLEY in hundreds of thousands of dollars worth of DIAMONDS… and again, typical. The tendency for rich parents to over-indulge their children has obviously turned into an MTV show about 16 year olds bitching and moaning that they ONLY got a Lexus for their birthday. But this is just my immediate reaction to these clips. I feel like these types of stories are so popular because there is a part of most people, including myself, that wish they had the means to live in the lap of luxury, as these individuals do. Maybe by watching them (and poking a bit of fun at their somewhat illogical sense of reality) we feel as though we are a bit closer to that lifestyle, and it makes us feel better.

    Last point: I do agree that some celebrities probably contribute more to charity than we give them credit for. The projects listed above and the sheer amount of money spent helping others is impressive, and I cannot take that away from them.

  10. Carla Gaynor says:

    American consumerism is getting way out of hand. Paris Hilton no doubt makes enough money that she can afford this pink Bentley with a diamond logo. However, this a ridiculous show of money when there are so many charities in need of funding.

    I was at a Lady Gaga concert a few weeks ago, and was actually pleasantly surprised at how involved she was in supporting a charity of her choice. She said she would match every dollar her fans donated to helping LGBTQ teens who have been kicked out of their home. True, the amount of time she mentioned this was a little overkill, but I found this to be a good example of celebrities putting some of their money to a cause… rather than a lavish material possession.

    It is not just celebrities though. I live in a tourist town on the east end of Long Island than flourishes in the summer. Being so close to the ocean, many wealthy families that summer in the Hamptons feel the need to have their large house placed with a perfect ocean view. My father works for a construction company that builds a lot of these houses. Over break my dad took me to one of the houses he was managing. It was an upside down house with its own walkway right down to the beach. In the room with the best beach view, has remote operated shades on all ten floor to ceiling windows. This room was a media room. This really pissed me off. To think about how much money they had spent to have this large house and property on the beach. Then to cover up the view by putting shades over the windows. Let’s face it, no one is going to spend time in the media room unless they are watching a film or television… the room serves no other purpose how it is set up. So much money was poured into something that really continues to confuse me.

  11. Wes Traub says:

    Income inequality has been steadily growing since the 1970’s, and will continue to grow until our generation can become more self-less and see issues of poverty through a different lens. Although some political restructuring that favors the lower class would be nice, it’s going to be a rough road to equality considering we live in a country where the richest 1 percent of the population holds 34.6% of its net worth, the top 1-10 percent holds 38.5 %, and the bottom 90 percent holds a mere 26.9% (MotherJones.com). Honestly, twenty six percent of the nations wealth resides in the bottom ninety? Are you kidding me? I mean, I’m all for capitalism… but that’s just insane.

    Alright, now onto the blog post. I wish someone could post the above statistics on Paris Hilton’s bathroom mirror so every time she wakes up, she could see how awful our country’s wealth distribution is as she admires her useless diamond grille for her Bentley.

    …On another note, I would like to commend the folks at Resource Generation for the excellent work they’re doing. Now THAT’S what putting your disposable income towards a good cause is all about. I have nothing against people who come from wealthy families. My mother actually grew up with maids in her household, and she most likely would be placed into the top 1-10 percent category along with her entire immediate family. But that doesn’t mean she bought diamond encrusted Bentley hood pieces and got Lexus’ on her birthdays when she grew up. People like Audrey in the last video make me sick to my stomach. In my eyes, THEY are the reason that income inequality is so ridiculous in America.

  12. acar2284 says:

    The uneven distribution of wealth is a very controversial topic in the modern world. I feel that there are definitely many worthwhile causes, both foreign and domestic, to which more of the society’s wealthier classes should donate. It’s pretty inspiring that there are groups such as Resource Generation that encourage affluent people to give aid to those who need it. As well, Bill Gates’ initiative to call upon his fellow billionaires to help make the world a better place is also very commendable. As it stands, I’m sure that many of the wealthy people in our society work hard in order to become well off financially. Thus, as not everyone in our capitalist economy can be wealthy, it’s inevitable that there exist a society divided into a range of socioeconomic classes. But as the number of charitable individuals grows in our society, we may further the goal of narrowing the great disparity between these extremes of excessively rich and desperately poor.

    I think that charities need to make an effort towards more effective advertising. Even considering the costs of publicity, I think it would be very worthwhile to create more awareness about the difficult issues that the world faces today. We all see commercials for the ASPCA urging us to save the mistreated animals, but what about causes such as creating jobs for those who are unemployed in our country? This is an issue that I believe the wealthy people in our country would have both the means and the desire to help with.

  13. Ben Ayres says:

    The good deeds in our society are always covered over the more selfish and materialistic deeds in our world. The world and especially Japan is still recovering an extreme amount from the devastating earthquake and Tsunami, donations are being poured in from everywhere and everybody. Professional athletes are donating parts of their salaries to the relief effort, the Seattle Mariners’ Ichiro Suzuki is donating over 100 million Yen along with the Boston Red Soxs’ Daisuke Matsuzaka. Many other baseball teams and players are also donating millions of dollars for the relief efforts, however we do always tend to focus on the more selfish. Those who show their moeny and use it in ways that they only could overshadow the acts of people who are donating for others and helping others out.

    Last year in my ethics class, we watched a film of an interview at Yale university of Bill Gates and Warren Buffett, both extremely wealthy men. However, past their wealth i remember what Bill Gates had to say about how he uses his money, he said that although he does go to many exotic places he is not going on all these trips with a blind eye, he is using these trips with his family to educate his children about the rest of the world and what could be changed to make a difference. I was very impressed by this because we as Americans only tend to see those using their money by buying all pink diamond encrusted dashboard Bentley or someitmes even burning $100 bills just for the hell of it. I think that we put so much attention on those more selfish people that it completely overshadows the generous and makes it appear that our society is one where people only care for theirselves and don’t do anyhting to help others. Although there are people like this out in the world unfortunatly, creating shows to show these people make it seem that our entire society is like this, although it is not.

  14. The society people live in today is much different than society has ever been. The reasons are displayed with Paris Hiltons picture of her new pink Bentley with the diamonds encrusted on the grille. Ps if i saw that car i would pick the diamonds of the front of the grill just because she got a car like that. When people spend such crazy money on goods that offer no improvements and benefits to their purchase, i feel people are becoming to rich for their own good. People that are born in this generation do not think of the consequences coming from spending such crazy amount of money over nothing. People have way to much at their disposal and Paris Hilton is a just one example of this.
    With that point in mind i look to my father. Born in 1940’s he has seen the shift and change in society i will never see. My dad grew up in a society that valued money and only spent money when it was actually needed not just wanted. We are all so spoiled because we always believe you should get what you want to some extent. Also, when people spend their money on 400,000 dollar cars, i am pretty sure GM would have loved that purchase due to the economy but Paris could car less about an American company or getting our economy out of the pooper. Instead, warren buffett has only owned American cars because he believes keeping the money in the economy will be helping our people with jobs. It is truly sad people do not have the mindset like warren buffet but more like Paris Hilton. If this trend continues, we as a country will see a little french revolution on our hands.

  15. jm0392 says:

    I absolutely love this blog post. Although both the picture of Fifty Cent and Paris Hilton were very appealing and caught my eye, I do agree that we need to consider what is necessary in today’s society. With all of the tragic and devastating events that have been occurring in the world, I think we should ALL be making better decisions of where to invest our money. I know it is easy to target celebrities for wasting money because they are constantly in the public’s eye, however, we all waste money. Think about the last time you went shopping, did you consider that the money you were spending could go toward a more helpful cause? We may not have the money available to be buying lavish items like celebrities and the upper class population, but we do spend our money on items that could be just as unnecessary. I don’t think it’s right to criticize celebrities for spending their wealth on items they want because we all do it, but on a smaller scale. If you had the wealth of Paris Hilton or Fifty Cent, how would you use your money? I know Fifty Cent and Paris Hilton, along with several other celebrities, invest a lot of their hard earned cash in charities and world issues. So, don’t they have a right to spend some of their money on the items that want and will satisfy them? When I go to the mall, I don’t consider that the money I’m spending on a shirt or a pair of shoes could go toward a better cause. I’m spending the money because it is what I want to do. As horrible as this may sound, we all have a little greed in us – some more than others. However, I do think this blog post is an eye opener. Everyone can make better decisions with their money. We can all make a difference in the lives of those who need help. I don’t want our generation to be known as greedy or materialistic, so I think we all need to consider the needs of others before our own wants. Would you want the final clip in this blog to represent your generation? It’s scary to see such a selfish and inconsiderate girl at such a young age. We can only hope that she has changed for both the good of society, as well as herself.

  16. Kyle Leahy says:

    Forbes actually did a survey of Celebrity spending accompanied with pictures http://www.forbes.com/2007/11/08/celebrity-holiday-spending-biz-media-cx_lh_1108celebspending.html

    The Justin Bieber thing is cool (despite the fact that it makes me sick to think that some 13 year old prima donna will get her parents to drop tens of thousands of dollars), atleast Bieber is conscious of his popularity and what he can do with it. I am a negative Justin Bieber fan and could care less about him, but it does say something that he is doing this. It contradicts my inherit dislike and disgust for him but in relation to the $400,000 diamond encrusted bright pink Bentley, Bieber’s hair gesture is looking pretty saintly. I think that far too much attention is given to celebrities in modern society and that is a core motivator for their absurd splurging sprees. Things like a Pink Bentley, Akon’s tiger cage (complete with live tiger) –http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8k6rkYe9yOw&feature=related , and yes even Celine Dion’s water park–http://www.usmagazine.com/celebritynews/news/pic-celine-dion-builds-massive-waterpark-in-her-backyard-2010284 . (I had to do some research). These are all meant to attract attention and keep up an image of elitism and unattainable status that today come hand in hand with popularity. Solution, stop giving Paris Hilton attention and her “sweet” ride will gather dust in her 17 car garage.

  17. Kyle Leahy says:

    Forbes actually did a survey of Celebrity spending accompanied with pictures http://www.forbes.com/2007/11/08/celebrity-holiday-spending-biz-media-cx_lh_1108celebspending.html

    The Justin Bieber thing is cool (despite the fact that it makes me sick to think that some 13 year old prima donna will get her parents to drop tens of thousands of dollars), atleast Bieber is conscious of his popularity and what he can do with it. I am a negative Justin Bieber fan and could care less about him, but it does say something that he is doing this. It contradicts my inherit dislike and disgust for him but in relation to the $400,000 diamond encrusted bright pink Bentley, Bieber’s hair gesture is looking pretty saintly. I think that far too much attention is given to celebrities in modern society and that is a core motivator for their absurd splurging sprees. Things like a Pink Bentley, Akon’s tiger cage (complete with live tiger) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8k6rkYe9yOw&feature=related and yes even Celine Dion’s water park http://www.usmagazine.com/celebritynews/news/pic-celine-dion-builds-massive-waterpark-in-her-backyard-2010284 (I had to do some research). These are all meant to attract attention and keep up an image of elitism and unattainable status that today come hand in hand with popularity. Solution, stop giving Paris Hilton attention and her “sweet” ride will gather dust in her 17 car garage.

    (Previous comment Corrected)

  18. This is an interesting post, especially to this audience of students. It costs over $52K to go to school here, so obviously there is money in the students that go here. There are also numerous tables placed strategically in the scandling student center weekly that are looking for money for good causes. I know for a fact that there are people here who, though not to the extent of “Audrey the brat,” don’t think much of money as a limitation. I think a very high percentage of students here could give money to these charities instead of buying nice things for them to have a good time at college (“party supplies”) but just walk by the tables and the people working the tables like they’re not even there. Its just interesting to read through the comments and read what people have to say.
    I definitely am all for doing cool things to raise money for people who need it. I’ll admit it, i am the worlds biggest Justin Bieber fan. But, when i saw what he did with his hair, it was comforting know that a young kid like him knows how to handle all the money is getting in a responsible way.
    My mom is currently in the hospital with pneumonia in both her lungs and will be there for the next couple of weeks. When i heard that brat talking to her mom like that after she bought her a brand new car, it literally made me sick. and the fact that people associate people like her with “our new generation” really upsets me. I think everyone should be grateful for what they have and that’s that, whether it be people, valuable, or health…

    oh by the way Fifty… if you’re not going to finish your dinner… I’ll take it off your hands

  19. dana Nachbar says:

    After watching that girl complain about getting a lexus made me want want to gag. I am appalled that society has made some teenagers this spoiled that they will complain over the most pathetic crap. This just disturbs me and angers me beyond my limits. I mean just because she didn’t get the car at the “right moment” doesn’t mean she shouldn’t appreciate the car. She even claimed “it wasn’t the right car either” What the heck is this girls problem? She clearly needs a reality check, there are so many children out there who don’t get any presents for their birthday because their parents may not be able to financially afford it. They may only be able to put food on the table to keep the children alive and that’s about it.
    The spoiled children who don’t appreciate what they have need to go to another country or just trade places with a kid who is more in need to actually realize how much they have and learn how to appreciate it rather than crying over the most pathetic superficial crap. It seems as if they only care about the “things” they have in their life more than they even care about having friends and a family.
    I’m not trying to say that all spoiled kids are unappreciative. I’ll admit my parents have given me a great life and I am very privileged, but I also appreciate every little thing they have given me and I have also worked very hard to earn those things. I do a lot for my parents helping out around the house and working jobs to pay for some of my expenses. I never complain about stuff my parents give me, because it’s about the thought that counts and the fact that they care about me enough to want to give me a great life. They do so much for me, it would kill me to even think about treating my parents that poorly. That made me really blow some steam, I just hope that one day those unappreciative kids will learn how to treat their parents right and learn how the real world works aka you have to work for what you want.

  20. Yosh K says:

    As much as i hate Paris Hilton, i honestly cannot disagree with her. If i had the money i would be decking out my car just the way i liked it. However, i would also be donating to charities especially over in Japan. People may look at this as selfish and arrogant, but the way i look at it is that you only live once. If i had money like Paris Hilton i would use my earned money, to help others yet live the life i want to. You cant tell me shes a bad person for having a 500 thousand dollar car.. it sounds rediculos but if thats what she wants and she can afford it, good for her. Im actually pretty jealous, i wish i could have a car like that. I dont see anything wrong with this as long as she realizes that others are in need and her donations would have a little affect on her but a large affect on someone in Japan. Work hard, party hard, and give back to the community Paris!

  21. Graham Pastor says:

    I would never spend that much money on something as useless as getting diamonds on a dashboard. I mean really, what good is that going to do her? It serves literally no practical function. And speaking of impractical purchases, who really would spend that much money on some of somebody’s hair? However, I think it is cool that Justin Bieber is taking advantage of so many people having “Bieber fever” for the benefit of a good cause. Although I find people’s obsession with him weird, I guess he isn’t that much different than any other popular teen idol. Also, although I think the Giving Pledge is really cool. At a certain point, do you really need any more money? I think it is great that all of these wealthy people are subscribing to this idea and giving away their excess wealth.

  22. steezlaweez4 says:

    As our society gets further into the 21st century the gap between the lower and upper class only gets bigger. Technology and the poor economy only makes it harder for people of the middle class to find sustainable long term jobs. But I feel that Resource Generation is exactly what people need to start using. As much as lower class people think that every kid that grew up with money is like Audrey. This is not the case. (side note) that B***h is crazy!(on to the next one) As you can see there are many young adults who come from family money and only want to to good in the world, and actually have there head on there shoulders. Giving money to Resource Generation is a great way to contribute to the rebuilding of are economy and society. Personally, this is the first time i have herd of a company such as RG, and I am very surprised there are not more companies out there doing the same thing.
    As much as i would love to hate on 50 and Paris for just being down right ridiculous with there money, it is hard to say that if you had that money… you wouldn’t do some ridiculous Sh** too. But i really do think these celebrities should start making “tha natural way” the cool way to live. Because they have so much money, they should just start helping with advancements in natural sustainability. How cool would it be if instead of Paris car covered in Diamonds, she had a car that ran on water (with of course a few diamonds in center council). But i truley believe if a group of these celebrities started to do this.. it would be the new cool thing to do.. and everyone would start spending there money on more useful inventions. Just a though.
    -Drew

  23. Sean Harrison says:

    Money, Money, Money… If i had the kind of money that some of these celebrities had such as Paris Hilton i would be doing whatever i wanted and not care about what others think. If I have earned that money, i would feel that i deserve to do what i want with it. Yes, some people can say it is wrong to be selfish and spend every penny on myself, but thats not what i would do. Of course, i would be donating to many funds and charities in order to help others, but the money that i have left to spend on myself, i would buy the craziest sh**. I am a very creative person and would just think of so many different things to do to my car, house, clothing. I’m telling you right now that i would be totally pimped out. I mean maybe Paris Hilton did go a little far with her diamond covered car or whatever it is, but things like this should be criticized. She has so much money and if she wants to spend it on a brand new car, let her go ahead and do it.

  24. dn1823 says:

    Wow, celebrities have so much money they don’t even know what to do with it! It angers me that they would take such pictures that almost brag about how much cash they have and how they are using it to make a car pink with diamonds like Paris Hilton. That is disgusting. I would like to see them being more kind and giving to the public rather than brag about it and make us normal people feel like crap. I also think it would be embarrassing to drive a car that is that pink and flashy. But it’s their lives; most were born into fame and fortune, while others have worked extremely hard to deserve every penny they have made. I personally look up to the celebrities who have worked hard for their pay and deserve it, and also the ones who give their money to people less fortunate.

  25. Richard Jarrett says:

    I totally agree with all of this. I am a big fan of wealthy people who donate their money. Big Bill Gates fan who is really the man with the idea. He is actually trying to convince all of his Rich friends to donate as well. Personally, my Aunt, every year for her birthday, instead of receiving, she actually tells all of the people who give her gifts to donate to charity instead of giving them to her. I think its brilliant. I hate the people who once they get power, all they want is more power. Bill Gates’ wife, has also started a ‘campaign for giving’. I would like to start seeing more and more professional athletes get involved though. Its a general consensus that these guys are all overpaid and all have too much. Its time for them to join the givers.

  26. Maggie Bernay says:

    This blog represents what we as a society value in America. One notices that these celebs are not shown taking photos with family or doing charity work or at school getting an education but instead they are shown with money and material objects. Our generation puts such an emphasis on what we have rather than what we do with what we have. While I am not saying we have to give up our nice materials but rather be able to put their desires into perspective and realize maybe I don’t need a hot pink diamond encrusted Bentley and instead buy a less flashy car and give the leftover money to charity or people in need.

  27. Esther Altomare says:

    Recently in one of my politics classes we had to write about a topic that we felt had become far too permissive in American culture. I jumped right to consumerism, and the ideas discussed in this post. In our culture bigger is better and there is always this constant need for more. It is disgusting how obsessed with things as a society we have become. The video of the brat from My Super Sweet Sixteen just goes to show how our values are so misconstrued. I mean I can’t even begin to explain the extreme disgust I have with that video. As much as I feel sorry for the mother, she raised the monster to come to expect things like 40,000 cars for her 16th birthday.

    Luxurious things are great don’t get me wrong; it’s just this excessive need to constantly spend more and more money on such frivolous things that really gets to me. I understand that one should be able to spend their money, hard earned or not, as they please but it’s just these excessive lifestyles that are promoted and displayed for everyone to see are really not what our nation should strive to achieve.

  28. Stephanie Haddad says:

    I really think that it’s terrible how some celebrities literally throw their money away as if they’re just tossing away a banana peel. It’s sad how they’ve forgotten the value of a dollar. Paris Hilton took just about the largest leap possible by embedding her dashboard on her car with all of those diamonds. I think it’s selfish and a pathetic waste of money. Bill Gates is so admirable, and I really commend him for going out of his way to donate despite the significant contribution he’s already made to society. If some of these money-grubbing celebrities would just take a tiny step back and really look at the rest of the people suffering, they could make a serious change.

  29. Ali Schreiber says:

    Wow. I am at a lost of words. I can sit here and judge Paris Hilton for her wasteful habits in spending money, or I can step back and think about what I would do with that much money. I believe that everyone is initialed to their own opinions and taste in things. Who are we to say what a person should or should not spend their money on whether they earned the money themselves or not. While it would be very generous and nice of people who have a lot of money to donate to good charitable causes, especially celebrities because they are in the lime light, I think that people should want to donate on their own terms and not just because people are persuading them to in order to be considered socially and morally correct. Like Peter stated earlier on in this blog thread, what defines a waste of money is the main objective question. My answer to that is if it makes you happy then it is not a waste.

  30. Chryssy Abdool says:

    Ok so this is ridiculous! I can’t imagine my child acting like this. I will never spoil my child, for these reasons. I don’t think it is the child to blame but the parents. This girl will not be acting like this if her parents never gave her everything she wanted from birth. No matter what the generation is, society is always changing and adding new technology and new ideas to this world. Parents need to step outside of this social structure and look at what society is manipulating into their childrens living habits everyday. Of course children are the ones who are exposed the most to technology and different new ideas, and parents have to make sure they are up to date to know what is going on and what they children are being influenced by.

    In order to be a good parent, reguardless if your rich or poor you can still spoil kids, parents need to regulate what they give their kids and how they give it to them. YOu have to teach them from young how to earn and work for their own things. Teaching them the value of everything is most important to growing up kids. The parents are stupid for letting this little girl talk to them that way and embarrassed them like she did.

    It is def not the girl to blame because she is only reflecting upon herself by what she sees outside in the world, in society, she only wants to be better than everyone else because society taught her that being better and richer than people means you get all the attention. Who knows, she probably sees the cars her parents drive and only want to have what they have. Or maybe it goes deeper who knows? I still think that its insane how rich folks spend their money like its water not even double thinking the fact that there are people in this world that dont even have clothings to wear, better yet food to eat. Smh this world needs to change.

  31. I have already read this post a few times in the past but I had never commented on it and I don’t know why. Although I guess this topic could be thought of as “cliche,” it really is something to think about. That is why I chose this, because this topic I guess has a sort of philosophical side to it. In one hand you have people such as Paris Hilton spending millions of dollars on “blinging” her car out and in the other you have people such as Bill Gates who is worth a lot more than Paris Hilton, donating half of his wealth. This really makes you think about these people and their personal wealth and their morals. If you are donating money (which Paris Hilton does,) and buying a diamond encrusted emblem for your Bentley….it just doesn’t really make sense. It seems as if they cancel each other out.

    In this post I really enjoyed reading about all of the examples of celebrities such as Justin Beiber, Paris Hilton etc. and how they use their money and if they decide whether to donate it or not. It is interesting to see the ideas that these people come up with and it makes me wonder if they do it for their ego (because other celebrities are doing it,) or they are doing it out of the kindness of their heart?

    The fact that their are many videos and pictures in this blog post make the message a lot more powerful than it would be without pictures or video. For example, when reading about Paris Hilton’s Bentley you get the idea that she has a lavish emblem on the front of it. But actually seeing the pictures of it really emphasizes how ridiculous this actually is. Overall, the pictures and videos really enhance the experience of reading the whole post.

    As i said previously, this post really gets me thinking and that it why I like it so much. This post prompts me to want to look into this topic more, like seeing who has donated what and how much they are worth. Also researching their backrounds to see if they are donating money because they are generous people or they just want the attention. Overall I really enjoyed thinking about the subject of donating large sums of money because you often see celebrities living lavish lives, it is interesting to see how much they care about the world outside of their own private bubble.

  32. Brittany Betts says:

    It’s actually embarrassing to see how snotty some kids can be. Crying because your mom gave you a brand new Lexus at the “wrong time”? Really? Some celebrities and especially My Super Sweet 16 really paint a bad picture of Americans. How necessary is it to have a $400,000 diamond encrusted dash board? But thankfully there are other celebrities that make up for other’s stupidity. Bill Gates gives SO much to charity, it’s awesome. I’m not saying all wealthy people should be obligated to donate half of their income; just a minor fraction would be more than appreciated. Think of how many people would be helped if every single wealthy person in the world gave to charities. I really admire all the celebrities that work hard encouraging others to join them in helping out others. Hopefully, they’ll have an impact and we can reverse this negative image of Americans.

  33. Ben Merberg says:

    With a world out there in such need we may ask ourselves why do we find more and more people spending on things they simply don’t need? I have chosen this post because its an issue if resolved successfully can equivocate to great social change. With the power and influence celebrities have the impact their money could have is quite substantial. However those who control the substantial quantities of money in this country, the billionaires, particularly the top 40 have chosen to give half if not more of their fortune away to charities. This type of philanthropic nature shown on behalf of the world’s wealthiest people, gives hope to the idea that not everyone is a materialistic robot. The influence pictures and media such as the above shown, have on our perception of the wealthy depicts a life of extravagant spending and no giving. This notion is construed through medias spin on celebrities spending habits, which often times are wasteful to say the least.
    This post makes me want to change my lifestyle in a way in which you are helping others while still helping yourself. The ways in which people contribute to their own demise is by spending to prove a point. After seeing the MTV series My Super Sweet 16 it is quite clear that some parents are willing to pay for the demise of their own child into a world of materialistic wants and needs.
    In conclusion the notion that you can direct your philanthropy to impact the most amount of people through networking groups such as Resource Generation has evoked change. Also in all respect to the celebrity population not all of them use their visibility for selfish spending, some utilize their stardom such as Justin Beiber has done to impact a charity of choice through something as simple as selling off locks of his hair.

  34. Clune says:

    First off I would like to agree with the statement that Bill Gates is in fact “the man”. I just did a little research and as of 2007 Bill and his wife Melinda are the second most generous philanthropists in the world, having given upwards of $27 billion to charity. Bill was the man who convinced investor Warren Buffett and Facebook CEO Mark Zuckerberg to accompany him in donating half of their wealth to charity over the course of time. This guy is clearly out to make the world a better place. As for the other many celebrities out there who choose to spend their wealth on gold toilets (Donald Trump) and Gucci shoes for their dogs (Nicole Richie). I must say that my generation is responsible for much of the materialism that has arisen in today’s popular culture. The fact is that moral standards are slipping all over America. Have you seen the prime time slots of MTV lately? Also it doesn’t help when Snoop Dogg discovers that 50 Cent has a new platinum Ferrari. So naturally Snoop will go out and buy himself a diamond encrusted Ferrari. It really just seems to be they way most celebrities think these days. Spending money has become a competition. Obviously I’m not questioning Snoop’s charitable donations. Only his gold and platinum pimp cup.

Comments are closed.

