Guest Blogger: Maddie Carens

This clip from Jimmy Kimmel Live has to be one of the more creative ideas on a comedy show that I have seen in a while. This particular Jimmy Kimmel clip captures children at what seems to be the “end of the world” for them, but in retrospect it uncovers something that is a bit terrifying about todays youth.

The funny thing is, at that age I can totally see how their reactions are plausible. For them that candy is supposed to last for months. Getting the candy in the first place involved hours of their hard work, running around neighborhoods in costumes that are not always easy to maneuver in… But the sad thing is how small the issue of Halloween candy disappearing is, compared to other worldwide issues.

Now although this clip was extremely entertaining, lets get the serious part. How ridiculous is it that children in our country are so traumatized when their candy vanishes? There are children in America that can’t even have a Halloween; either costumes are too expensive, neighborhoods are not safe enough, or parents can’t afford to give their children the experience. There are people in the world starving to death, and we are upset about candy?

It is definitely something to think about, and a wake up call to those parents whose children responded in this way. It is the parent’s job to inform their children that they can’t always have everything their way, and that there are people in the world whose food situations are extremely different and challenging. This clip gives parents an incentive to step in and teach a good lesson to their children early on.

14 thoughts on “Guest Blogger: Maddie Carens

  1. My brother works for Jimmy Kimmel as a video editor and I believe he edited that peice. Btw: Those adorable two boys from the end of the clip are going to be on the show tonight, I believe.

    Thanks for writing your blog. I really enjoy it.

  2. Guanqun Li says:

    I agree that there are children who can’t even afford a Halloween because of some environmental or economic factors. However, I don’t think that being upset about candy is a real issue here.

    Just as you said, these candies are the results of hours of hard work. “Eating” all of these candies without their permission is the same things as throwing away your 100-page final paper without letting you know. The issue here is depriving the result of hard work, no matter it is candy or not. Let’s suppose a scenario: some poor people, nearly starving to death, find some food in their effort; others deprive their food without letting them know. I believe their feeling will be the same with these children. My point is that it is not an issue of social or economic status; it’s all about their hard work. Therefore, I think their reaction of being so traumatized when their candies vanish is reasonable and understandable. From this perspective, I don’t see any lesson parents can learn to teach their children.

    However, if the Halloween candies are changed to normal candies, and they still react like this, I do agree with you that parents should teach their children that they couldn’t always have everything they want.

  3. In a childrens world, nothing is more important to them than their toys, pajamas and candy. When we think of school work and sports, children are thinking of halloween candy. For kids, halloween is the best night of the year (other than Christmas morning.) I find these reactions hilarious, but at that age i would be doing the same thing. I completely agree with the fact that there are kids out there who dont get to experience Halloween and all of the great treats that come with it, which is a shame and awful to think about because everyone should get to experience halloween as a child, but for those who do experience it, its the time of their life. What kid doesnt like to dress up and recieve candy for doing so. I think its hilarious that Jimmy Kimmel is the one who came up with this video because Kimmel reminds me of a little kid who definitely would have the same reaction. This was a great post and very entertaining.

  4. Sasha Borenstein says:

    I would first like to say that this is hilarious, and my roommate and I watched it multiple times laughing harder each time. I remember trick or treating with my sisters and competing to see who can get the most candy. But at the end of the night we each were able to keep our own big candy bars and then the rest was combined between the three of us. We had one giant bowl of all the chocolate and one giant bowl of everything else. My sisters and I knew that we could have our friendly competition but in the end we were going to share everything anyways. The fact that these children freak out this much over candy is so sad, although funny. These parents should look at the way they have raised their children because if they get this upset over candy, then this is the least of their problems. These parents are going to have some problems to solve once these children get into their early teen years.

  5. Hahahahhahahahahaha.. When I first saw this video all I did was laugh. This is the funniest/cutest video I have ever seen. The best part for me was the last one.. When the two boys were talking to their mom, when one was trying to act cool and the other was letting his brother do all the talking. Every time that kid talked, the tiny one, who wasn’t talking much, he said the cutest/funniest things ever, like “2+2 =5” and “You sneaky mom”. Babies are just so cute; they all got sad when their parents told them that they ate all their candy.

    I do not agree with qunqun when he said “I don’t think that being upset about candy is a real issue here.” I think it is a real issue for kids, as for them their world is based on candy and fairytales. And at the same time I agree when Qunqun said that the candies are the results of hours of hard work, and they’re annoyed because they knew that all of there hard work is gone to waster. It was amazing when the kid himself mention it that “mom I went to a lot of houses just to get the candy”, it here looks like the kid himself is aware of the hard work he has done.
    I agree that parents should teach their children that they can’t have what they want always, but at the same time I think, it’s their right to get mad and sad because their life revolves around candy and fairytale. That’s their age to feel that way and I think no one has a right to interfere in that. Its their time to have everything they want because eventually it gets harder to get what you actually want, and eventually they’ll learn it, when there is a need to learn.

  6. Tom Mascia says:

    I do think it is a noble cause of your blog post to address the unfortunate nature of many world wide problems, however I feel as though your topic is a bit misguided. I do not think we can take this example of children losing their Halloween candy and getting upset as a representation of what is wrong with the world. Kids get upset over missing an episode of Icarly, but they do not know any better. If I was a kid with no responsibilities and my mom said she took my candy, hell yea..I’d pissed. I worked really hard looking cute in my ninja turtle costume to get that shit. I wouldn’t talk to her for at least 3 hours.

    I think the real question here is why do we, as a society, care about what the new “hot” celebrity is wearing buying etx. I think it would be much more beneficial to global awareness if the public at large takes a collective effort to distance themselves from the social media.

  7. GT says:

    “Hahaha” was my first reaction to this blog entry. Of course, losing their candy is going to seem like the end of the world for these little kids. However, as I continued to read the blog entry I was disappointed in the parents. Why had they not taught their kids that they can’t have everything? When I was younger my mom made me save more than half of my candy for the less fortunate kids in Jamaica. And when we went down their for Thanksgiving break we would hand it out to them. Yeah, I was always a little upset at first but I got over it. I knew it was for a better cause. In my Inequalities class this semester we discussed the wealth disparity in this nation and on a global scale. The difference in net wealth is completely appalling between the top wealthiest Americans and the rest of the nation. We talked about how some of the top wealthiest Americans can rarely even relate to their fellow lower class, lower status citizens.
    In response to Guanqun Li’s post, I thought he brought up an interesting alternative viewpoint. But I cannot 100% agree with his statement. Regardless of how hard they worked for their candies they should not have responded in that way. Rather they should have been willing to give away some of it. Instead of doing it behind their backs, the parents should have discussed it with their kids first and then together they could have given it away. That would have been more reasonable.

  8. Clune says:

    For starters, props to Jimmy Kimmel for this genius idea. Not only did he provide America with laughs by using this clip, he also made several children ball their eyes out for no reason. Yes it is true, children in this country do come off a little spoiled due to the nature of their actions in this video. However, the clip also personifies the thrill of being a young, innocent, ignorant child in America. It illustrates how good most kids in our country today have it. How loosing a bag of candy can mean the end of the world to them shows how amazingly innocent they are. Innocence is the best part of being a little kid. Not having to worry about the stock market or the next ice age is a privilege of being that young. At that age, loosing a bad of hard – earned Halloween candy should be the worst of your worries. I remember when I was around that age and my Halloween candy would literally last me almost a year (true story). Yes, there is no denying that there are many children out there in the world that can’t celebrate Halloween at all or let alone have a single piece of candy, but that doesn’t mean they wouldn’t react the same way to a stolen bag of candy. After all, they’re kids too. Just because they may live in a third – world country doesn’t mean they wouldn’t throw a tantrum over stolen candy. I can’t imagine what kid wouldn’t be incredibly distraught over such a horrifying debacle.

  9. lizbramley says:

    This video made my day! It is extremely hilarious and I appreciate how the post went past the humor, to an underlying issue. Although I cannot exactly relate to these kids in a candy sense, (I never went trick-or –treating, my parents are extremely religious) I still understand how upset these children are. Moreover, they have a right to be. Like others before me commented, these kids worked awfully hard for that candy and I am sure it seemed incredulously unfair to have it taken away.Their world is condensed into a microcosm of our own, whereas we would be upset if our car was taken, so they too are distraught.
    However, The problem is not that the children are hurt because they do not get what they want, the problem for me, is more of the reaction. Crying is one thing, but hitting the wall, throwing objects and shouting that their parent is ugly is another. I would have never, ever, in a million years behaved that way towards my parents. Not only would they have actually taken away my candy, but also my TV rights and ability to see friends. When I was little and something did not go my way, I could be upset all I wanted, it would be unnatural not to be, nonetheless when children start disrespecting parents or having a over reactive temper tantrum there is a problem.
    As cute as kids are, and as funny as the reactions may be, some of these parents might want to assess their child’s reaction. Hitting a wall now at a young age is only gong to get worse when they get older. Telling a parent they are ugly at the age of five is going to lead to some extremely offense comments when she gets to be a teenager. Shaping a child to be a respectful adult begins when they are young. So, instead of allowing children to have a temper tantrum, whine and hit things, while laughing it off, perhaps parents should try teaching their kids that life is not always fair, and although it is okay to be upset about it, it is not okay to lash out.
    On that end, I understand kids are young and you cannot expect too much adult behavior, but even so, parents have to start somewhere. Good thing I am never having children!

  10. perezer says:

    OMGSH this is hilarious, I could not stop laughing through out the entire video. I liked how you started out your blog by giving a brief description of what you were going to talk about and then posted the video so that your audience can see directly see it. I also think that this is a very creative idea, I don’t think I’ve ever seen anything like this before on a comedy show or talk show.
    I also see how this is a bigger issue, way past the comedy skit. It is important for children to understand that they can’t always have what they want. In many cases parents encourage their children’s behavior by just giving them what they want so that they could stop crying or stop making a scene. A place where children are known for throwing the biggest tantrums I would have to say is Toys R US. I live in New York City so the closest Toys R Us is in Times Square – an area that is always flooded by teenagers, workers, and tourists. I’ve seen children literally fall to the ground and repeatedly beat their hands and feet on the concrete just to make a scene and get what they want. I can’t imagine the embarrassment that parents must feel when their children do this. It’s completely ridiculous to even see this.
    Children need to be taught at an early age that this type of behavior is completely unacceptable. If parents always give their children want they want they’ll carry the same concepts into their adult life. They will eventually think that everything in life is easy and that everything is going to be handed to them – which is never the case.

  11. mreeg62 says:

    I honestly loved this video!!! The reason I responded to this blog was because my parents pretty much did the same thing to me when I was younger. Except when they told me they ate my candy, they actually ate my candy. You could imagine how mad I was when they first told me, and then how much more mad a got when I actually figured out that they ate all of my candy. Later in my years of trick or treating, I would always hide my candy in an amazing spot, but I would always forget where I put and never be able to find it again. Once I found it, all the candy was melted from the heater that I put it next to… Not a good day at all.
    What I really like about this post was the cleverness of the video, and all the awesome responses of the kids after their parents told them. I also liked how you took this post to a whole new topic than I thought you were going to. I thought this post was going to just talk about the video and how cute the kids were and how terrible the parents were for doing this to their kids, but it wasn’t. I loved how you took this and turned it into one of America’s biggest problems. I believe that American’s are way to selfish. We take all of the things we have for granted, we never really think about other people and how other people are spending the same holiday as us. When we are celebrating Halloween over here, children over in Africa are probably fighting for their lives. Another problem that we have is obesity, I’m not going to say which kids, but there were a few kids in this video that were overweight. If these kids are flipping out because they don’t have candy, we should bring some other things into their lives other than food.
    This post really makes me want to help children that are less fortunate than me. I know there isn’t much that one person like me can do, but if we get one person, then another, then another, it will start to build up until we can make a real difference. I’ve also thought a lot about the food that we throw away. I know it’s kind of gross, but I would like to somehow give that food to less fortunate people. Or maybe give our saga up for a day once a week, we did that once, but I think we should do it more.

    And to Liz’s comment…. i want to have eight children

  12. Nov 10 Blogger- Maddie Carnens

    This video was extremely entertaining and I give props to Jimmy Kimmel for thinking up this challenge. Although I see the purpose as being a good laugh, I agree that this video does underline a major problem. I completely sympathize and understand how disappearing candy may seem like the end of the world. Especially to kids whose parents can provide a lot for them, they are not used to the “unfairness” of having their candy taken away. We constantly tell our kids that if they work hard enough for something they will achieve or enjoy it. Well, the kids worked hard going from house to house to get their candy to only have it taken from them seems like a traumatic experience. What about those kids who come home from school and have to take care of their younger siblings because the parents are at work trying to provide? They work super hard for no reward but to live. I understand the fact that parents want to shelter their kids from an unfair world but this is ridiculous that they are devastated over a bag of candy.

    cg

  13. Matt says:

    Great post. I’m of the same opinion you are: kids today (children specifically) have their work cut out for them with regards to realizing that there is an entire world outside of their usual routines.

Comments are closed.

